I knew this was too good to last…

July 13, 2007 at 4:16 am (Uncategorized)

So when I was on Maternity leave after Princess was born, I negotiated with my employer that if I came back, I’d get to work 1 day a week at home. So for the last 3 years, I’ve been working at least 1 day a week from home. It’s been AWESOME. I schedule special classes for the kids on that day. I also meet with various playgroups on that day. And I can get some chores (laundry, cleaning, grocery shopping) done on that day.

But I’ve been informed that I’m up for a pretty substantial promotion. This promotion is pretty high-profile and I’d be managing people who also have families that don’t have regular days that they work from home. So in order for me to get this promotion, I’ll have to give up my day at home. *sigh* I really want this promotion, so I told my employer that after Princess’s ballet class is over, I’d stop working from home. I’m so sad, but excited about this big promotion.

6 Comments

  1. AK Alter Ego said,

    What a hard decision (((hugs)))

  2. Arlene said,

    Congrats on your promo!

    But what if you as the manager could champion more flexibility at work? Maybe even a rotating 4/40 schedule or something. I think that flexibility in schedules is such a benefit these days that ppl really look for that.

  3. Kimberly said,

    That must have been such a hard thing to decide, but it does sound like a fantastic opportunity! ((hugs))

  4. Beth said,

    I hope you get the promotion if it will make you happy. It will be hard to give up the time at home with the kids – hugs!

  5. erika said,

    WOW! Well first of all… congrats on the promotion! That’s terriffic news! But, I do feel for you on the giving up the day at home… that’s rough. I like Arlene’s idea of being a champion for change, like in 9 to 5! If Dolly Parton and Jane Fonda can do it, so can you!

  6. CrunchyCon said,

    LMAO at Erika! Congrats Bella!

Leave a Reply

